Board Election Results

Members of the American First Day Cover Society have elected four people to its Board of Directors. The 317 ballots cast this year continues the trend toward larger voter turnout. It was much larger than usual, more than double the number in 2018.

The four candidates who received the most votes were all incumbents. They will begin four-year terms beginning January 1, 2022:
  • Cynthia Scott (243 votes)
  • Michael Lake (235)
  • Ralph Nafziger (221)
  • Lorraine Bailey (187)
Two candidates were not elected:
  • Shirley Ulling (155)
  • Michael Moticha (141)
Single write-in votes were cast for Mark Gereb, Michael Rosenthal, Peter McClure, and Andrew Doback.

Scott, who lives in Indiana, is currently Chair of the AFDCS Board. Lake recently moved to Massachusetts and completed a one-year term on the Board filling a vacancy. He chairs the AFDCS Education Department. Nafziger, of Oregon, is Recording Secretary. Both he and Lake are members of the Executive Committee. Bailey, an Honorary Life Member and Distinguished Service Award recipient who lives in Virginia, is currently a member of the Honors and Awards Committee.

President Lloyd de Vries thanked Elections Committee chair Otto Thamasett and committee members Neal Parr and Jack Ginsburg, all members of the Robert C. Graebner Chapter of the AFDCS, for their work in counting the ballots in this year's election, and the Nominating Committee chaired by Michael Litvak for recruiting the candidates.

Four seats on the AFDCS Board of Directors are elected each year for three-year terms, beginning Jan. 1. In addition to the 12 elected directors, the president, the editor of the official journal First Days, and the general counsel serve on the board ex officio, if not elected to the board in their own right.

The Board will now vote for the elected officers (president, executive vice president, first vice president, recording secretary, treasurer) and a chair of the board, to serve one-year terms.

AFDCS directors are not compensated nor reimbursed for their travel expenses.

© 2024 AFDCS Contact Us