Cynthia Scott is Board Chair

The Board of Directors of the American First Day Cover Society has elected officers for one-year terms, and chosen Cynthia Scott of Indiana as its chair.

The 2020 AFDCS officers will be Lloyd de Vries of New Jersey, president; Michael Litvak of California, executive vice president; Jim Hogg of Florida, first vice president; Ralph Nafziger of Oregon, recording secretary; and Mark Thompson of Tennessee, treasurer.

Scott has been AFDCS first vice president and show chair, as well as a member of the board of directors. She has produced Anon E. Mouse Cachets for occasional issues since October 1981, and is also a member of the American Philatelic Society, American Association of Philatelic Exhibitors and Women Exhibitors.

The former Master Sergeant also served for more than 30 years in the U.S. Air Force. She is about to leave her position as Registrar Services representative at Indiana University-Purdue University after 12 years, but is currently taking courses. “I love being a student so much that I am now pursuing my second bachelor's degree, this one a BA in English,” she says.

AFDCS officers are not compensated, nor reimbursed for their travel expenses. The Executive Committee, which also includes the executive secretary, immediate past president, editor, membership and education chairs, and the general counsel, conducts business throughout the year and meets each year at the society's annual convention, which in 2020 will be held August 20-23 at Great American Stamp Show in Hartford, Conn.

The AFDCS board will also meet at the convention and conduct other business throughout the year, under Scott's direction.

© 2021 AFDCS Contact Us